• Darkest Wave Magazine

Dutch Duo Vaselyne Release Full Length Album 'The Sea Says'

Vaselyne has build up to the upcoming album release with 3 fantastic EP’s - “Winter” “Here To Begin” and “Shame”. All three received high praise especially in the German dark music press and gave us a wonderful preview of their “The Sea Says” Album.

Good Albums are more than just a collection of great tracks but also a well told story. A great record takes you on a journey with mountains to climb, oceans to navigates and a depth of emotions to explore . Vaselyne’s true magic becomes especially apparent in this format. It really allows them to fully display their musical prowess and ability to take their audience onto an almost spiritual quest. “The Sea Says” tells stories of loss, burned bridges and new beginnings. In short Vaselyne talks about life in a compelling and beautiful way. And like the Siren's of old Yvette Winkler's voice captures your heart by the sweetness of her song, while Frank Weyzig draws from his storied career and adds a depth of musical mastery that is equally breathtaking. Together the create one of the most exciting new voices in their genre

"Dark Wave with a glow" is how the band describes their music and it seems like an apt description. Darkness permeates the soul of their music but there is hope and light at the end of the tunnel. It is that spirit that captures the imagination off the listener and makes Vaselyne a force to be reckoned with.

"The Sea Says" will enthrall you with its magic!

Vaselyne is a collaboration between Dutch singer Yvette Winkler and Dutch musician and producer Frank Weyzig. A mutual artistic curiosity gave birth to their VASELYNE project in the spring of 2011. One can safely assume that to hold tenure in VASELYNE, you'd best exhibit the deepest level of commitment to what the band stands for. Influenced by bands like Porcupine Tree and Blackfield, Vaselyne could remain one of ambient-alternative rock's most intelligent and gifted technical bands. (Markus Seibel / medicine-mag).

Both members have a track record that speaks for itself. Yvette Winkler was co-founder of Dutch band "Sea of Souls" (2006). You can listen to her vocal work on Pieter Nooten's album "Here is Why" (2010), for which she sang some of the lead- and backing vocals. Frank Weyzig is a Dutch producer, composer and band member, known for his contribution to the original line-up for "Clan of Xymox" and his work for indie new wave band "Born For Bliss".

Vaselyne continues to innovate upon their unique form of art-ambient/alternative and at the end of the day, its actually the ease with which Vaselyne serves up this versatility, making the music go by in a flash ( Markus Seibel/ medicine-mag.com).. Vaselyne has so far released four albums on German label Echozone: ‘Earthbound’ EP (2012), their full length debut album ‘The Fire Within’ (2013), ‘In Dreams’ EP (2015) and ‘Fragile’ EP (2016).

In the spring of 2018, after a two year hiatus, the band picked up things where they left and Vaselyne contributed to the new Textbeak (Michael Szewczyk) album, “Sick for Songs a Season Eats”, produced by John Fryer. For this album, Yvette wrote and sung the lyrics for “Legion_err” and both Frank and Yvette have written and sung the lyrics for “Information Medicine” a track with Mark Stewart of “The Pop Group”. Frank also added the electric guitar parts for this track. Others who contributed to this album release are: John Fryer, Lynette Cerezo (Bestial Mouths), Searmanas and Mark Stewart (The Pop Group). Yvette also collaborated with IAMTHESHADOW, John Fryer’s Black Needle Noise, Jean- Marc Lederman, Attrition and Junksista. Frank worked with Kelly Cook ( ex- Moev) on their new project “Tearing The BlackBox”. Their first two singles ‘Devil World’ and 'Breathe', were released in 2021.

Vaselyne now finished recording their upcoming album. The first single of that album is a ballad “Waiting to Exhale”. The video for this track was made by Dutch filmmaker Dorothee Meddens. The new album includes collaborations with Lynette Cerezo from Bestial Mouths, Searmanas, John Fryer ( Black Needle Noise, NIN, Prayers, This Mortal Coil and HIM) and Michael Aliani from Chiron/Ikon.

Purchase 'The Sea Says' on the Vaselyne Bandcamp page

44 views0 comments